A Spirited Girl On Cornish Shores ~ A Little Hotel In Cornwall by Laura Briggs #Blogtour ##Giveaway #Guestpost

Synopsis

It looks like a perfect Cornish autumn, with aspiring novelist Maisie Clark still finding inspiration as a

maid at the historic Penmarrow Hotel. Between the staff of quirky co-workers, glamorous and

unusual guests, and her growing friendship with the charming but mysterious Sidney Daniels, Maisie

is living out adventures instead of just penning them in the pages of her would-be novel’s growing

number of chapters.

And then there’s the slight problem of keeping the balance between friendship and ‘something

more’ with Sidney, who’s helping introduce her to the village’s version of a Cornish Halloween, and

has recently taken an interest in Maisie’s secret that may change things between them. But even

Maisie’s imagination can’t conjure the unusual event this Halloween brings to the Penmarrow. An

eccentric earl has chosen this site to host his lavish birthday celebration that includes a pretty (and

perceptive) young psychic whose predictions seem to have everyone on edge — and, to Maisie’s

delight, the elusive novelist Alistair Davies is rumored to be part of the guest list! But with the earl’s

bickering relatives and illustrious friends on hand— and more than one ghost of the past waiting to

be revealed — it’s anyone’s guess what the festivities will bring before the party is over.

Will the psychic foretell doom for the earl’s gathering—and is her ‘gift’ as genuine as it seems? Will

Maisie finally meet her favorite author face to face? And, more importantly, what about the

romantic sparks that fly between Maisie and Sidney?

I’d like to thank Rachel’s Random Resources and Laura Briggs for inviting me to take part in this wonderful blog tour.

And without further ado I’d like to hand over to Laura who has a great guest post for us …

Fun Facts about A Spirited Girl on Cornish Shores

Thank you so much to Lisa for letting me tell your readers about my newest release, A Spirited

Girl on Cornish Shores.

This sequel to A Little Hotel in Cornwall finds would-be author Maise Clark still working at the

historic hotel known as the Penmarrow. Maisie cleans elegant rooms by day and pens chapters in

her would-be gothic fantasy novel at night. In between, she finds herself spending more and

more time with the charming Sidney Daniels, the groundskeeper and handyman for the local

vicarage. With an idyllic Cornish village and a dash of Halloween fun, Maisie’s autumn is one

filled with romance, secrets, and mysterious happenings.

Several pieces of fiction helped inspire the different elements for this colorful new story. Readers

will recognize a few of them without trouble, but others may be less obvious. And so I thought it

might be nice to share a few of the ‘fun facts’ behind Maisie’s second Cornish adventure and

hope readers will enjoy learning about them!

1) The quirky hotel guests, including the Earl of Middlewhite, his scheming family members,

and his various high society friends were partly based on the traditional Agatha Christie style

cast of characters. Specifically, The Body in the Library and The Sittaford Mystery served as

inspiration for the eccentric characters that keep the Penmarrow’s staff on their toes. And The

Murder at the Vicarage is referenced for obvious reasons when Maisie is invited to a Halloween

party at the local vicarage where a game of ‘Murder’ takes the night in an unexpected (but non-

deadly) direction!

2) Readers of my other Cornish series ‘A Wedding in Cornwall’ were well-aware that its hero

was heavily modeled after television’s new Ross Poldark. In this new series, however, the

character of Sidney Daniels is rather less noticeably inspired by James Norton’s leading role in

the ITV mystery show Grantchester. But there’s a special nod to that connection at the fancy-

dress party Sidney attends at the vicarage—one that readers in the know should recognize right

away!

3) The idea of a young, pretty psychic whose skills may not be exactly as they seem was first

brought to mind by the 2014 romantic comedy Magic in the Moonlight starring Emma Stone.

The film character’s whimsical charm was greatly influential in creating that of Natalie Norridge,

whose uncanny predictions stump even the paranormal investigator who is invited to the earl’s

party specifically to test her abilities. Some of her traits are also a slight nod to the focus

character of author Laurie R. King’s mystery A Monstrous Regiment of Women.

4) Finally—and this is one that most readers will no doubt spot right away—the character of

Sidney’s friend Dean is inspired by none other than Will Traynor in the novel and film versions

of Me Before You. A former painter left nearly immobile by a tragic accident, Dean’s character

possesses a wry and somewhat jaded sense of humor that makes it difficult for most people to get close to him. He also presents a rather unexpected challenge for Maisie since he doesn’t seem at

all fond of her growing friendship with Sidney!

Hopefully some of you will be curious enough to check out A Spirited Girl on Cornish Shores

for the rest of Maisie’s adventure. And if you haven’t read the first book in the series, A Little

Hotel in Cornwall, it has the same lighthearted spirit and feel-good factor, perfect for reading in any season!

Amazon UK

Amazon US

All About Laura

Laura Briggs is the author of several feel-good romance reads, including the Top 100

Amazon UK seller ‘A Wedding in Cornwall’. She has a fondness for vintage style dresses (especially ones with polka dots), and reads everything from Jane Austen to modern day mysteries. When she’s not writing, she enjoys spending time with family and friends, caring for her pets, gardening, and seeing the occasional movie or play.

Where To Find Laura

Twitter

Facebook

Giveaway to Win one of 3 Cornish themed prizes (Open Internationally)

1st Prize: A Ross Poldark collectible Knitdark character doll (Open Internationally) –1 winner

Perfect for fans of all-things Cornwall, this Ross Poldark doll with tricorn hat is made by Angela Blay,

whose popular Knitdark creations have been featured on The Graham Norton Show. Since each doll

is hand made, the Ross the winner receives may vary slightly in appearance from the one in the

picture. Readers can learn more about the Knitdarks at Angela’s Twitter page @kwerkyknits as well

as her Etsy shop at Kwerky knits

2nd Prize: A decorative tin T.A.R.D.I.S (Open Internationally) –1 winner

A tin T.A.R.D.I.S similar to the keepsake Maisie is gifted by Sidney in Book 1, A Little Hotel in

Cornwall. Designed by Etsy artist KittyConduitt81 and perfect for fans of Doctor Who! Being a

unique, hand made item, the final design may vary slightly in appearance from the one pictured.

Learn about KittyConduittDesigns on Etsy at Kitty Conduitt Designs

3rd Prize: A Kindle/Tablet case featuring cover art from A Little Hotel in Cornwall (Open

Internationally) –1 winner

A specially designed case for a Kindle or Tablet featuring the cover art for Book 1 in the series A Little

Hotel in Cornwall. The final product’s size, texture, and color will depend on the winner’s device.

*All 3 winners will also receive a digital copy of Book 1 in the series, A Little Hotel in Cornwall.

*Terms and Conditions –Worldwide entries welcome. Please enter using the Rafflecopter box

below. The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid entries and will be

notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days then Rachel’s Random

Resources reserves the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or

over. Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will

not be shared with third parties, with the exception of the winners’ information. This will passed to

the giveaway organiser and used only for fulfilment of the prize, after which time Rachel’s Random

Resources will delete the data. I am not responsible for despatch or delivery of the prize.

Click here to enter

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s